To be or not to be

View previous topic View next topic Go down

To be or not to be

Post  poachermas on Sun 25 Sep 2016, 3:20 am

HI everyone.
Been following the forum pages in awe the last couple of years,most notably"crystal" "blackbeard","Frederick" and lynn's rebuild of Mikes road loco.
Now I find myself in the very near future in a position with retirement approaching and finances in place to embark on a stw road loco project
I'm just a humble mechanic,and whilst I like to think I can fettle and problem solve most things,I donít have access to milling,lathe machines.
The sales blurb says "hand finishing and paint is all that is required" but having read the forums I'm sure most people have had to machine various parts to fit, ie,reface diff gears,wheel hubs,cotter pins,reg mods etc,I appreciate these builds were from the first batch,and so suck it and see is understandable, but then if control model is used shouldn't everything be sorted before sending parts out.
I suppose the question I'm asking myself is in my everday life now,wrong parts,parts don't fit do I need to carry that over into retirement
Does anybody know if recent kits have had all mods,glitches ironed out.
Really my next step is to have conversation with Steve and Dean and let them talk me into it
I've really enjoyed reading the build diaries, great insight and inspiration, and great paint jobs and a credit to you all
So to be or not to be that is the question,or a boat pottering about on the broads lol
Marek

poachermas

Number of posts : 15
Registration date : 2014-03-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: To be or not to be

Post  lynnr on Sun 25 Sep 2016, 6:54 am

Hi

I am Crystal's chaperone. When building her (first run 4" showman) there was 5 different issues with parts.

Couple parts had to be returned to factory for refinishing or just replaced by STW. All arrived toot sweet.
I needed to tap a hole on the block but did not have taps. STW loaned the required tooling.