Cumbrian 4" Showman

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Cumbrian 4" Showman

Post  JayBee on Wed 17 Feb 2016, 12:15 pm

Having visited the GDSF on a number of occasions and greatly enjoyed all the full size and smaller engines on display I have taken the plunge and embarked on building a STW Burrell and being seduced by the line up of Showman's engines it had to be the one to go for so here goes!

My background is in engineering and I have done a little model engineering but this will be a challenge. I am planning to document my probably slow progress to adding another 4" Showman's to the line up of excellent engines already out there.

This is not the first bit to get done but having painted the smokebox it really felt that there was some progress. Paint is Barbecue satin black and I will be Nickel plating the exposed steel parts. The puzzle with the plating is that I have not found anything to indicate how to judge the thickness of the plating or how much is required to provide corrosion protection. Also, If anyone has comments on an optimum size for photos I would appreciate yoiur comments these are very much as they came from the camera.

John

Last edited by JayBee on Wed 17 Feb 2016, 1:40 pm; edited 1 time in total

JayBee

Number of posts : 13
Registration date : 2015-11-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Cumbrian 4" Showman

Post  lynnr on Wed 17 Feb 2016, 12:35 pm

Hi

And welcome aboard the Showman train.

First photo size. Resize to 800 pixels wide by however much tall. Normally done by linking aspect ratio when resizing. This economises on bandwidth needed and online storage space. Also makes the pictures less attractive to pinching without loosing forum view ability.

Nickel plating. Not very thick needed as long as solid coating. I normally went for 60 mins at a mild fizz 12v 1A with the frost kit.

lynnr

Number of posts : 2717
Registration date : 2010-08-06

View user profile http://www.pbase.com/uisge

Back to top Go down